Going Sola

adventures belong

So as much as I’ve been fortunate enough to travel, I have never really traveled by myself. I mean I have flown sola many, many times over the past 16 years. But I was either going to university, going to visit friends or going on a group tour.

I can remember the first time I flew by myself. And it didn’t hit me until I was at the airport. It was Thanksgiving of 2000. I was a freshman in college. My roommate Caroline kindly gave me a lift to the airport. I only realized at check-in that I would be flying by myself. At this point I hadn’t really even flown that much, only a handful of times with my family. Alas, I made it home and back to school just fine!! (and had many subsequent trips to that day)

Then I can remember in 2007 wanting to travel so badly over the summer holiday. None of my friends were interested, had money, or had time off from work. So after talking to a few people, I decided to book a tour with Contiki. You can read more about that story here. But in short, Contiki is how I caught the travel bug! And I couldn’t be happier that I made the decision to travel “alone.” I had the best time and met some of the greatest people. Most of whom I went to visit or came to visit me in the following years. These days, at almost 34, I don’t think I could handle a Contiki tour!

In 2009 I toyed with the idea of going to Scandinavia alone. However, and I’m still not sure how, but I ended up in Morocco. I went by myself but I joined up with an Intrepid group. It was an amazing experience. Once again, I met some wonderful people and had amazing experiences.

During my trip around the world, I was with Jax in the beginning, then with Mimi, then visiting friends/family and then on another Intrepid tour in Africa.

So even after all this, I feel like I haven’t experienced the true travel alone experience. I’ve been telling myself for years that I need to travel alone. Alone, alone. But I have never managed to actually book something. I guess I wasn’t trying hard enough! But I have finally made the leap since I recently promised myself that before my 34th birthday, I would do it. Sooooooo…..on March 4th I will be checking something off my bucket list and I’m super excited.

I haven’t told anyone where I’m going. Not because it’s a huge trip or because it’s necessarily a big secret. But I feel like it’s something I want to hold on to myself for a bit. You will find out where I’m going when I post pictures! 🙂

See ya on the flipside!

~A

‪#‎travelsoloby34‬ ‪#‎azonzodasola‬ ‪#‎daydreamingnomad‬

One response to “Going Sola

Leave a Reply

